pixel 15th Economic Journalism Award winners’ announced | Universidade NOVA de Lisboa

15th Economic Journalism Award winners’ announced

Prémio de Jornalismo Económico 2021

The article “The (various) fruits of green consumption”, written by journalist Fábio Monteiro, from Jornal de Negócios, is the Grand Prix winner of the 15th edition of the Economic Journalism Award, a partnership between Santander and Universidade NOVA de Lisboa.

Published in January 2020, the work shows that, in recent years, stores and customers of “green” consumption in Portugal have multiplied, a business which is above all an ideological choice. Eco-consumption is an emerging trend. The article presents several business cases and brands that are available on the market. Competing in the Sustainability and Business Innovation category, upon winning the Grand Prix, the journalist will receive a prize in the amount of 10,000 euros.

In the Financial Markets area, journalist Nuno Aguiar, from Exame Magazine, was awarded with the work “Robinhood: robbing markets to give to the internet”, which portrays that investment in stock exchanges through trading platforms without commissions exploded in the USA during the pandemic, fuelled by a wave of new investors with little training, many with a presence on social networks.

In the Companies and Business Management category, two journalists collaborated in what was elected the best article in this area: “Series 5 Days, Governance of Banco de Portugal", in which Margarida Peixoto and Rafaela Burd Relvas, took advantage of the fact that the Parliament was preparing to vote on two more proposals to amend the organic law of the banking regulator, to make a retrospective of the various proposals that have been presented regarding the functioning, powers, mandates and appointments of the respective bodies.

When winning the respective categories, each of them receives a cash prize in the amount of 5,000 euros.

The ceremony took place today with the participation of Pedro Castro e Almeida, Executive President of Santander Portugal, and João Sàágua, Rector of Universidade NOVA de Lisboa.

This was the 15th edition of the Economic Journalism Award, which received 50 applications. The articles were evaluated by a jury composed of personalities of recognized merit linked to Social Sciences, Journalism, Finance, Sustainability and Management: Francisco Caramelo (Director of NOVA FCSH), António Granado (NOVA FCSH), Cátia Batista (Nova SBE), Conceição Zagalo, Graça Franco, Helena Garrido and Paulo Pinho (Nova SBE).