pixel Ethics Council | Universidade NOVA de Lisboa

Ethics Council

The Ethics Council of NOVA University Lisbon is an advisory body of the Rector for the ethical issues raised by the activities developed at NOVA University Lisbon in the fields of scientific research, teaching, university extension and operations in general.

Its mission is to promote reflection and contribute to the definition of guidelines aimed at consolidating a policy of safeguarding ethical and deontological principles in the areas of scientific research, teaching, interaction with society and the general functioning of the University.

The Ethics Council develops its mission based on respect for the dignity of the human person and framed by other principles defined in Articles 2 and 3 of the Statutes of the NOVA University Lisbon.

The Ethics Council of NOVA University Lisbon has the following members:

Professor José Fragata, who presides;
Dr. António José Teixeira;
Professor António Rendas;
Professor  Carmo Seabra;
Professor Cristina Costa;
Professor Diogo Pais;
Professora Doutora Helena Pereira de Melo;
Professor João Valente Cordeiro;
Professor José João Abrantes;
Doctor José Manuel Pereira de Almeida;
Professor Manuel Nunes da Ponte;
Professor Maria Arménia Carrondo;
Professor Maria do Rosário Martins;
Dr.ª Paula Martinho da Silva;
Dr. Salvador de Mello;
Professor Salwa Castelo –Branco.

Check the Regulations of the Ethics Council of NOVA University Lisbon. (in Portuguese)